August 1st, 2016

*As we progress with this cycle, we are going to (on some days), put the barbell work before the gymnastics. Good core and glute activation in the warmup should still be integral here, as well as good shoulder prep.

Barbell
A. Snatch – 70%x1x5 OTM, 75%x1x5 OTM, 80%x1x5 OTM – If after these 15 sets on the minute you feel good, continue to a heavy single with a max of 5 more singles
B. Snatch Pull – 90%x2, 100%x2,110%x2x3
C. Push Press – 3RM; 90%x3, 95%x3
D. Front Squat – 70%x2, 75%x2, 80%x2, 85%x2, 90%x2x2

Gymnastics
A. Kipping Muscle-UP x 3-5 reps w/ 3-second hold in lockout x 3 sets (turn out thumbs on lockout)
B. Defecit HSPU Negative @ 10 second lowering + Kipping HSPU out of defecit;; 1 rep EMOM x 10
C. HS Walk – 200 feet for time
D. EMOM x 12:
Minute 1: Strict Pull-ups x max reps in 30 seconds
Minute 2: Hollow Hold x 30 seconds
Minute 3: GHD Hip Extension x 8-10 @2011

14 Comments

  1. A. 150/62/72 continued -> 85/89/205/15x. Just a little sloppy with my feet. Happy with 205, glad to be that close to 215, which is what I’ve been basing my percentages off of.
    B. 195/215/230
    C. Worked up to 230, 210/220
    D. 230-295. These felt ok… I’ve been worried about my strength numbers for a while now. Feel like it’s taking some time to come back. Hoping to start the path to building back up!
    A. Done x 5 reps.
    B. Done with 8″ deficit. ab mat with 25# and 2 45# plates.
    C. Skipped due to time
    D. Done. 10 pull ups per round.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. Hey Everyone,
    Sorry I haven’t been posting. I did last Wednesday’s workout, but missed a few from the week before, and all of the ones since due to traveling for the games and being up at my moms house, and now traveling to bama. I compete this upcoming Sunday, but got into a gym today in Virginia to workout thankfully. I’ll be able to do tomorrow’s workout though!

    Today we did 10 minute EMOM: build to a heavy squat clean double. I got 225, and one at 235, under the second but couldn’t stand it up.

    Then 3 min amrap: 400 m run, max wall balls 20#. Rest 3 minutes. 3 rounds. Did 37/41/35 wall balls. Each time about 1:20 of UB wall balls which I was cool with. Not a bad workout considering I woke up at 3:30am and drove 7.5 hours to Virginia and my first workout in 5 days. It’s been tough mentally not working out and being able to eat how I normally do, but it’s all very fun and it’ll be nice to get back on track post bama. Plus my body loved the rest. Miss y’all!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Missed you all this week! I was in a car crash a week ago Saturday and, while not super serious, I did get some whiplash and have been trying to rehabilitate this week. I came in yesterday during open gym to see how I was feeling – did some light snatch work and the conditioning piece from Friday. All in all, I felt pretty good.
    Today the snatches felt great, my neck wasn’t bothering me, but somehow I fucked up my left wrist good. Like, not just a little bit. No idea how, nothing felt wrong or strained. FML. Anyway, long story short, I think my body is telling me to take a break and I’m going to have to stop comp training for a little while while I deal with my neck and now this fucking wrist so I’m not out longer than I need to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Also sorry for not posting much – i’ve been trying to make it in at least twice a week but this summer schedule has been killing me.

    A: 83, 88, 93 – these felt really good today
    B: 108, 118, 135 – so heavy
    C: 113 wahoooo, 103, 108

    Went to do the front squat and i’ve had this nagging pinching feeling between my shoulder and my scap, and honestly it was painful just to have my arm down by my side in a resting position. Doing the push presses was probably dumb…decided to call it a day from here. I’m going on vacation starting friday, so I might take this next week completely off (except for mobility stuff) and come back next thursday and hopefully things will feel better.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Was in yesterday morning. Everything felt like it took a long time to warm up into before it felt ok. Not my best Monday.

    A. 83, 88, 98, then worked up to 113. All the sets felt really good by the 3rd one in, but following instructions, I only had 5 left in working up, so only got to 113.
    B. 108, 118, 133
    C. 123. Failed the 3rd one at 133 when my wrist decided not to cooperate.
    D. 143, 153, 163, 173, 183. Failed the last rep at 183, wasn’t sure if I was low enough and hesitated before going lower and that was it.

    Gymnastics
    A. Did with small band 5 reps
    B. Did with 10lb plate (on 25# plate with abmat). Probably can do a little more deficit if just 1 at a time.
    C. Practiced handstand walks for 6 minutes.
    D. Got through one round before I had to leave. Will make this up.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Coming to y’all live from Arlington VA, home of the Arlington national cemetary. Miss you all, and Nic I’m glad you are alive and well. Sounds like everyone needs to monitor how their bodies feel to make sure we aren’t getting hurt!!

    A. 135,140,150
    B. 165,185,205
    C. 175 then 155,165
    D. Worked up to my 85% at 240 and called it there. Legs are smoked from all the wall balls yesterday.

    Did 3 MU per set
    Did all the HSPU at 4″ defecit
    Did the 200ft in 3 minutes 41 seconds in 50 ft stretches
    Now jumping in on a metcon:
    4 rft:
    500 m row
    20 push ups
    10 chest to bars

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

