July 1st, 2016

*As a reminder, we will be entering a new program cycle starting this Monday (which, I am aware, is the 4th of July.  If you can’t make it to Day 1, you can make it up on Tuesday).

I would like to go over a few things, training-wise, with all of you, and I will be at the gym this afternoon (Friday), after the 4:30 class, when most of you are usually coming in to train.

Treat today as a test to see how you currently feel; if it’s not there, technique or speed-wise, don’t push it to the point of frustration.  3 misses at a weight is the most you can take, then back it off and hit a single or 2 at 85-90% of what you made for your Heavy Single.


Technique Primer:Slow-Pull Snatch (5 sec to mid-thigh) + High-Hang Snatch + Snatch Balance – 4 x (1+1+1)

A. Snatch – build to today’s heavy single

B. Clean & Jerk – build to today’s heavy single

C. Squat Clean – 30 reps for time @ 80% of today’s heavy single C & J

Rest 7-10 minutes, then…

D. For time:
30 Muscle-Ups

*If you don’t have a Muscle-Up yet, complete:

20 Rounds for time of:
3 Chest-to-Bar Pull-ups
3 Ring Dips

9 Comments

  1. A. 175. Got stuck at 165 for a while, hit 175 on the first try and then failed 185 twice.
    B. Up to 235 (20lb pr)
    C. 6:25 at 190 – tough, but felt good.
    D. 6:50 5-5-2×10 this took a while and I failed a couple reps at the end, but I’m happy with the progress I’ve made since the beginning of the year.
    Good training day.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. A. 118. Was very wobbly so I didn’t try to go up. Matched PR.
    B. 153. Clean wasn’t real steady, but jerk was good. Was glad to hit this on second try. This is a squat clean pr (power clean is higher)
    C. Ughhhh. 6:52.
    D. 20 rounds of death. 16:16. Definitely wasn’t rushing. Pull ups are feeling better, which is good. Shoulders on fire.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. A. 123
    B. 158
    C. Skipped; knew my shoulder would be destroyed and on 153 my back crunched really weird, didn’t want to risk it.
    D. 14:32; ugh. Finished the first 20 in 6:40 ish. Then just started struggling and hitting muscle failure blah

    Like

    Reply

  4. A. 165 😢 I hit this for 3 a few weeks back on a complex.
    B. 225, missed 235.
    C. 7:11 at 185 started a bit too aggressive and died, not I can’t walk…
    D. 4:54
    Should had just worked out after coaching. Didn’t rest or eat anything all day until I got out of work at 2. Live and you learn #onward

    Like

    Reply

  5. Knew today wasn’t going to be a PR day – my body has been feeling a little bit run down lately – but wanted to get some good reps in

    A: 108 – I was honestly surprised I hit this today – in a good way.
    B: 133 – which is terrible, because I usually can get under 153 pretty easily.
    C: 4:29 – but only had to do this at 103# which was pretty light.
    D: I tried a bunch of muscle ups today – probably should have stuck with the 30x3x3 but I reallyyyyy wanted to try the muscle ups haha.

    On another note, despite my lack of lifting performance today, I do feel like my gymnastic stuff has been improving which has been nice. I know the lifting will come back with more reps.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

