February 17th, 2016

A. Take 15 minutes to build to today’s heavy single Jerk

*Use whatever style of Jerk allows you to move the most weight

B. Against an 8-minute running clock:
15 Deadlifts @225/155
15 Box Jump Overs 24/20″
15 Deadlifts @275/185
15 Box Jump Overs
15 Deadlifts @315/205
15 Box Jump Overs
Max Calories Assault Bike in remaining time

*Be smart here! Don’t snap your shit up a week before the Open; if the weights are too much, scale it back, and focus on good mechanics throughout.

Rest 6 minutes, then…

C. Against an 8-minute running clock:
30 Push Jerks @115/75
30 Toes to Bar
20 Push Jerks @115/75
20 Toes to Bar
10 Push Jerks @115/75
10 Toes to Bar
Max Calories Rowing in remaining time

27 Comments

  1. I was telling Tom this morning that the last two or so weeks my body has just not been recovering. Legs are constantly tired and dragging. Time to take a look at my food intake (both what I am eating and when/amounts).

    A) 245-split (missed 255- bummer)
    B) 15 cals (Rx). Deads: 225- UB, 275- 8+7, 315- 5+5+2+3 (last 5 got sloppy). Had 1:00 left for the bike and moved like my legs were attached to the floor.
    C) 5 cals on the rower (finished t2b with :28 left). PJ: 30 @ 16+14; 20@ 4×5 (and those sets of five were work), 10 – UB. T2B- flopping around all over the place up there.

    Of these 2 I would’ve thought the 2nd would have been far better than the 1st. Those push jerks started to feel real heavy and the T2B were nothing short of hilarious. Disappointed in myself with the jerks and even more so on the T2B. That being said, for me, getting through the deadlifts- I was pleased. 15 reps at 315 is challenging weight for me

    Like

    Reply

  2. A) 265 (10lbs off pr)
    B) 25 cal
    Fucking pissed at myself. I stopped with 2 minutes left thinking that was it and realized it when I was unloading my bar and hopped back on the bike. FUCK MAN. Bonehead mistake
    Deads were 15@225
    10-5@275
    10-5@315

    15 cal
    Pj 15-15
    10-5-5
    10
    T2B were
    10-10-10
    10-5-5
    5-5
    Felt ok on this. Felt like I kept a good pace.

    Like

    Reply

  3. A) 295 – went for 315 and flopped. Knew this wasn’t happening today but, had to try.
    B) 7:53 and we only have 1 Airdyne at the gym and Marc beat me to it… Probably would have had like 16 cals tho. No big deal, thanks for coming out Marc. Jokes aside, deadlifts felt heavy this morning went UB, 9-6, and singles at 315. Left hammy started to pinch a little so decided I’d safe myself on the negatives and go singles. BJOs were fine.
    C) 11 cals. Sat on the rower with :43 left on the clock. Took my sweet time changing the units and strapping in (stupid). PJs were 19-11, 15-5, 10. TTB were 8-8-7-7, 7-6-3-1s, 5-2-1s (feeling that GHD still I guess)… eesh

    Hoping to make up yesterday’s work later today so I can utilize the rest day tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply

  4. A. Worked to 225# pretty fast, under 235 but felt my left shoulder tweak so I bailed. 30# under my PR but I’ll
    chalk it up to being really sore and having a tweak in the right side of my back.

    B. while warming up deads (my previous PR was 315) I decided to pull 325 for a double and then 345 for a single, so a 30# pr. Not bad for being afraid of deads and not having done them much during the last year.
    Did the 225-275-315 rep scheme but only went 3 deads into 315 before I called it quits with 2 minutes left on clock. Didn’t want to mess my back up. Did 225 UB and 275 as 5-5-5.

    C. 37 Cals.
    PJ: 17-8-5 then 10-6-4, and 10
    T2B: 15-9-6 then 10-6-4, and 10
    Had about 1:50-1:55 for rowing. Used first minute to catch breathe and take short strokes, then did about a cal per pull last minute.
    Need to mobilize and rest hard.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  5. A.235 feeling a bit slugish. Can’t get my legs to work. B. Finish all the reps at 315… But skipped the box jumps and moved right to the bike πŸ™„,Not sure why I did that.
    C. 20 cals

    Like

    Reply

  6. A. 165, missed 175 three times
    B. 11 cals, scaled to 115/135/155 and box step-up overs. Really didn’t want to have any set backs so I just focused on form and not getting hurt
    C. 5 cals Rx

    Tired body, tired mind. I was definitely feeling some type of way today, but luckily Matty Q was there to give me a quick pep talk! Ready for a rest day and to then to get back to it on Friday! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 4 people

    Reply

  7. A. 158 today. Attempted 168 6 (yikes) times it was sooo close but not today. Jerks felt great, but that was about all that felt good today.
    B. Finished the last set of DLs with 3 seconds left. Rough! Went 8/7, 5/5/5 then 3s, 2s and singles for the last. 205 was hard, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t go to Snap City. Back feels aight.
    C. Only made it to the second set of T2B and got 5 lol. This felt like a cruel joke, just couldn’t myself get going. Jerks and T2B were both awful. 75 lbs felt so heavy after those deadlifts.

    Time for bed!

    Like

    Reply

  8. A. 285 10# PR 300×2 misses
    *been chasing this for awhile
    B. 47 calorie
    C. 31 calorie

    Today was a good training session! Good job everyone!

    Congrats Matt on that HUGE jerk PR!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  9. A)245
    B) Scaled(225,245,265)
    19 cals. Dogged it on the bike could of got 30 easy.
    C) 2 cals. Tweaked my neck which really slowed me down

    Like

    Reply

  10. A)160; got 165 up just couldn’t stabilize it
    B) got through 205 DL and 4 box jumps. Deadlifts are not a strong point, and really kept it cautious on this one.
    C) finished, I think I might have been able to get a few cals; tried to save Alyssa who was locked out
    Pretty solid day congrats Matt on your PR and congrats Jake! Almost got that 3hunna!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  11. A. 225 (5# PR)
    B. 14 Cals. Scaled (225, 245, 265) – my lower back has been a little tight and didn’t want to push it. Also 15 reps at a weight I’ve never even done one at seemed a little ambitious.
    C. 19 Cals – this felt pretty good. The push jerks and T2B were fast, but I wasn’t able to go 1cal/pull on the row.
    I have not felt so beat up after a workout in a while. I need that rest day tomorrow.
    Also, today marks one year to the day of my first fundamentals class at Full Range. So I thought, being the Californian softie that I am, (yes, I went barefoot through most of college) I would reflect on the last year for a minute.
    After the first metcon I was like, what the fuck did I get myself into? But I kept coming back. I could see myself progressing and I could see the people around me progressing. After joining the comp group it felt like I was seeing even quicker improvement, in large part due to Adam’s awesome programming and the incredibly supportive atmosphere. YAS KWEEN! I’m so glad to be part of the Full Range family. Anymore, I can’t imagine my life without it. I know I can be laconic, but I’m rooting for you all. Let’s kick ass in the open!
    If you got this far, bravo. Don’t worry, this is the first and last sappy comment I’ll be posting.

    Liked by 7 people

    Reply

    1. Nic! I’m so happy thay you’re a part of the group. It’s been so amazing to see how much you’ve improved in just a year, and I can only imagine what the next year will look like for you. I love your sappy comment, hopefully it’s not the last πŸ˜‰
      YASS KWEEN!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    2. Thanks for this Nic. It’s been so much fun having you in the gym, and now in the competition group, and seeing your improvement (M.I.P, perhaps?). Great job today, congrats on the PR!
      I’m only responding now because I’ve been late to check the responses, not because I’m a non-sentimental prick

      Like

      Reply

  12. A: 158# – felt easy, then put 163 on the bar and it felt like 293847293874 pounds. another day.
    B: 5 cals – the deadlifts actually felt okay. Just made sure to take my time on the 205s.
    C: 30+30+20+20+10+4 – my t2b felt great through the round of 30, then they felt like poop the round of 20s, definitely the limiting factor. But they do feel like they’re getting better!

    Good work on all the PRs today! πŸ™‚ And yay Nic for being here a year!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  13. A. Hit 170 (5# off my PR) and missed 180 about 4 times. Soon, very soon 180.
    B. finished with 7 box jumps in the 3rd round. Scaled 3rd rd to 195 to save my back, which was starting to go at 185.
    C. Completed 1 T2B in the 3rd round. Still need work on those. The jerks felt ridiculously easy after the deadlifts though.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

