January 29th, 2016

A. Gymnastic Work:
Choose 3 of the following, and perform 3 sets, not for time:
Strict Toes to Bar x 6-10 reps @3111
Handstand Walk x 10-15 meters
Alternating Pistols x 12-16 reps
Strict Muscle-Ups x 1-4 reps
Strict Handstand Push-ups x max reps into Kipping Handstand Pushups x 6-10

B. Power Snatch, 10 minutes build to a heavy triple (NOT TnG); no more than 10 seconds between reps

C. Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 9 minutes of:
6 Hang Power Cleans (155/105)
12 Hand-Release Push-ups
15 Box Jumps (24/20″) (full stand at the top)

D…In the 6 minutes immediately following, build to a 1-RM Snatch (ala 15.1a and 15.1b)

25 Comments

  1. Went into the gym early this morning because of a late work day today, and the grind doesn’t stop for anyone. Rest day yesterday was definitely needed as I recover and get ready to take on this Saturday’s WOD. Saw that I had one of the top times on Thursday so I was pretty excited about that, as I have been pushing pretty hard to get outside of my comfort zone to be one of the faster movers on the blog.

    A. Worked up to a heavy power snatch triple at 85 lbs! Huge break through here. My coaches were really impressed with my “turn over” or whatever they called it, not sure what that meant but I know that I am improving with this lift. (Curious to see if this is enough weight to come close to Emma)

    B. You’d be out of your mind to think I am hang power cleaning 155 for one rep, let alone 6. Especially when that is closer to my dead lift and back squat weight. So instead I programmed a more manageable weight of 85 lbs. so that I could hang on for all the reps (my forearms were tired). I did the hand release push ups, and the box jumps at 20″. I got 4 rounds + 6 + 2 HR push ups.

    C. I then immediately tried to snatch the 85 lbs and that was a huge mistake, as I dropped the barbell on my upper and neck when my left elbow buckled, sending me for a bit of a ride. I stripped the bar down to 65 after recovering from the fall, hit that and then worked back to 75 lbs. with about 12 seconds remaining.

    All in all, a good day, but hoping to hold on to one of the top scores again! Happy weekend y’all!

    Liked by 4 people

    Reply

  2. I’m competing tomorrow in a little in house at CrossFit East Providence so I didn’t go crazy today. Not to mention my arms are still feeling Tues and Wed.

    A) strict toes to bar 8 reps
    Handstand walk about 10m
    Alternating pistols 12 reps
    B) worked up to 125. Didn’t have to dip much to get under but was struggling with the lock out.
    C) only did 95. Made it through 4 rounds and did the 6 hang cleans from the next round.
    D) skipped this.

    Hope everyone enjoys their weekend!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Not sure if it’s worth posting so infrequently…still working on quite a few limitations with the ankle (can’t bound, ankle flexion on jerks, squats, etc are tough and limiting…but somehow I could catch a snatch, in some weird fashion). I decided I’m just going to do what I can with what is listed and fill in some accessory work if I can’t. I did do most of Wednesday’s stuff yesterday so progress for 2 days in a row.

    A. Strict MU and Deficit HSPU (kipping – 2 45# plates for first 2 sets, 2 45+25# for last)
    B. 160×3, 165×1. Not much clicking today.
    C. 5+24 – had to step up and down for BJ
    D. 177 (135, 155, 165 – all power). Attempted 187.

    Like

    Reply

    1. Hey Marc, I think you should keep doing what you can do. As long as it doesn’t aggravate your ankle, you can always work on upper body stuff, and maybe some deadlifting or positional work in place of cleaning or snatching?

      Like

      Reply

  4. Strict toes to bar
    Strict hspu
    Pistol work

    A) 165×3 these felt good
    B) 5+6
    155 snatch. This has been a big work in progress for me so will take it.

    Woke up pretty stuffed up today so breathing was definitely an issue today but body felt good

    Like

    Reply

  5. A. T2B, hand stand walk, shspu
    B. 175
    C 5 + 3 RX. Cleans UB. Box jumps slow me down
    D. 190. Missed 200 twice.

    I think my small calves hurt my speed on box jumps. #tinylegproblems

    Like

    Reply

  6. A. T2B, Handstand Walk, (I tried to go at a slow steady pace and keep in control with my feet together) Strict MU.
    B. 155 – I’m really happy with this since this was my 1RM snatch up until a week ago. Missed the 3rd on the first try, but got all three on the second.
    C. 5+6+1 RX. Cleans UB for the first 2 rounds, then 4+2 for 2, and 3+3 for 2. Had to do step down on the box jumps because my right achilles has been acting up.
    D. 155. Missed twice and then got it. Missed 165 twice.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  7. A. Kipping T2B x 10 (need to get as much practice as I can on these)
    Alternating pistols x 12
    Kipping MU x3, x3, x4 (managed to string 2 together twice the last round, yay)
    B. Up to 98#.
    C. 5+6+12+5 RX
    D. 103#

    Felt good today. It was great to workout with Brayn at 3, thanks for the push!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  8. A. Did strict toes to bar, pistols, and kipping hspu.

    B. 6 rounds + 6hpc+11 HR Push Ups
    All HPC UB. HR push ups started to get me.
    Then I hit 165# for 94%. Under 175 no problem (which is my pr) just my right knee came forward. Stoked with how this night went and congrats to James, Matt, and Alanna for the PRs!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  9. A. Worked on ST2B, pistols, and HSW
    B. 195, 200 (oox)
    C. 6+ 3
    D. 215

    – felt good after this so I took a crack at 230 for a 5# PR and hit it. Really happy with this… It’s been about 8 months since I hit 225 and haven’t been near it since. Congrats to James and Alanna for their PRs as well!!

    Liked by 4 people

    Reply

  10. A. 3 strict muscle ups and a lot of handstand practice.

    B. 175×3
    185×1 (power snatch PR)
    The proverbial pot was super hot and I ripped 200 for a snatch PR in my metties.

    C. 5 RX + 195
    Had a little time on the clock but decided to stop here. Worked up to 195 then made an attempt at 205 and missed.

    I felt like the terminator with these snatches tonight. Shoutout to Matt and Alanna for hopping on the bus to PR city. Great sesh.

    Liked by 5 people

    Reply

  11. What a great atmosphere in the gym tonight PRs off the wall!
    A. 103×3, went for 108 got 2
    B. 6+2 hang cleans
    C. #113 PR!! Don’t know how but I’ll take it.
    Congrats James (no longer saddest Pepe) and Matt on your PRs!!

    Liked by 4 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

