January 25th, 2016

Hey everyone! I will give a more detailed breakdown of how the next few weeks will be structured when I have a bit more time tomorrow. For now, know that Monday’s metcon is intended to be hit hard, like you would approach an Open workout. Similarly, on Friday, we will be doing what I would call “Open simulator” workouts, which obviously should be attacked in similar fashion. Tuesdays will be CP Battery work, Wednesdays Jerks + Aerobic Intervals, and Saturdays will have some Deadlifting + some longer “fun” type stuff.

Looking forward to watching all of you sharpen it up and get ready to kick some ass in the Open (or at least kick your own, past-selves ass).

Onwarddddddd!
Optional AM Session:
Row 8 minutes @moderate
+
Rest 2 minutes
+
10 Minutes @steady pace:
1 TGU each arm
10 Meter Bear Crawl
20 Hollow Rocks
10 GHD Back Extensions
+
Rest 2 minutes
+
Row 8 minutes @moderate

Main Session:
A. Gymnastic Work:
Choose 3 of the following, and perform 3 sets, not for time:
Muscle Ups w/Pause in Catch & Extension (or just plain old Muscle Ups) x 3-6 reps
Toes to Bar x 10-20 reps
Double Unders x 40-50 Unbroken Reps
Nose-to-Wall Handstand Hold x 45-60 seconds
L-Sit x 30 seconds

B. EMOM x 12:
1 Snatch @70-75% w/3-second hold in bottom

C. Three rounds for time of:
15 Overhead Squats (115/75)
15 Burpees to 6″
15 Chest-to-Bar Pull-ups
15 Box Jump Overs (24/20″)

(Full effort here!)

Rest as needed, then…

D. Three rounds at 75%
5-10 Strict Ring Dips
10-15 GHD Sit-ups
20 Overhead Walking Lunges (45/25 lb Plate)

17 Comments

  1. B) 115. Form sucked today. Needs a lot of work
    C) 13:00 RX
    D) 6:13

    Not the start to the week I would
    Like but that’s how it goes sometimes. Wod felt good. Surprisingly

    Like

    Reply

  2. A. Tackle some new weakness. T2b, mu’s and nose-2-wall
    B. 11:19 Rx. First round everything unbroken. Second round 8+7 ohs and unbroken c2b. Last round 7+8 ohs and 11+4 on c2b. Legs were a bet soft going to the box jumpovers
    C. 7:27

    Like

    Reply

    1. Sorry
      B. 6 at 125 and 6 at 130# these felt good today. Focus on keeping the bar close and patients getting that bar to the pocket

      Like

      Reply

  3. A) skipped this due to limited time. Was going to try to make it up in the garage and just never got out there.
    B) 180# across. Nothing felt crisp but, no misses.
    C) 14:52Rx – I absolutely died. My body is still pretty banged up. OHS UB, Couldn’t string CTB, burpees felt slow, legs were smoked on the box jumps. Not ideal. Need a lacrosse ball and foam roller.
    D) done. Didn’t run a clock just made my way through the rounds.

    Like

    Reply

  4. A. 1 MU, 12 UB T2B, 45 DU
    B. 78 x 8, 83 x 4
    Snatches felt pretty good tonight. No misses.
    C. 12:39 RX.
    All OHS UB, C2B went decent, but not UB. Just tried to make it through the Burpees. BJs were slow. May have gone out a little fast trying to keep up wth Matt and Jake, but I didn’t hit a major wall!

    Like

    Reply

  5. A. Worked DU, T2B, and hand stand holds. Felt solid here.
    B. 155×4/160×4/165×4 — did these in metcons today. Felt better as the sets went along. Really trying to improve position in the bottom.
    C. 11:13 RX — nothing felt particularly great here, but OHS UB and pull ups in 10/5. Just far too slow through burpees. I’ve gotta figure it out here.
    D. Done — got a little tricky with all of us sharing rings and GHD.

    I REALLY liked the gymnastics skill work as a warm up of sorts. Today was a tough guy check. I was on the floor for a bit after C, so in happy with my effort, but I need to push mentally with burpees.

    Like

    Reply

  6. A. Worked on muscle up progression, 10 T2B and hand stand holds.
    B. Did this at 83#. Felt ok
    C. 18:03. I could not get moving quickly this morning. It was slow or slower. Morning workouts don’t go well. I’d like a redo on this one.
    D. 7:45. Felt fine.

    Like

    Reply

  7. A: did max effort ub hspus, t2b, and 40 dus
    B: 78# – felt really good
    C: 21:24 – I sucked really hard at this. I couldn’t keep my breath even and felt like doo-doo during the whole workout.
    D: Part C killed me and I felt super light headed after so I decided to save this for a warm up tomorrow

    Like

    Reply

  8. A. Worked on L-sits, toes to bar, and sets of 50 dubs.
    B. 125×5, 135×7
    C. 10:42 RX. All OHS UB (this is huge for me) which I think was possible due to bringing my hands in a bit for the OHS. C2B UB first two sets, last set 9-6. Didn’t move as fast as I could have through burpees and box jump overs but I needed them as rest stations of a sort to be ready for the OHS.

    D. Had to coach, will do tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply

  9. AM Session- done

    Main session:

    A. double unders, toes 2 bar, Lsit, muscle ups

    B. 155/160/165x4x1

    C. 9:12

    D. Done

    This was a good training day! Gymnastics felt good and dubs were great. Snatches were iffy. Met con was really fun! Did all CTB butterfly and unbroken.

    Like

    Reply

  10. A.
    1. DU 30-40 UB
    2. Handstand holds nose to wall 45+ seconds
    3. 3,2,3 MU. Really focused on exploding and pulling lower to my hips, they felt great today.
    B. #83, took a few reps to get comfortable but then these started to feel solid.
    C. 13:34. I haven’t been this disappointed in myself in a while. I was on the floor tired but felt like I just sucked today. Felt mentally ready to get after it but not totally physically. I didn’t feel my motor today, just generally fired up and ready for a new day.
    D. Worked through it sharing the ghd

    Like

    Reply

  11. A. Worked on L sits, pull ups, and handstand holds for 10 seconds at a time.

    Snatches: 65×6, 75×6 all power.

    C. Did the OHS at 45#. Regular pull ups for first 15, ring rows for the other sets, everything else I did as Rx. 21:23

    D. Did regular sit ups and bench dips, lunges at 25#. 12:11.

    Overall a good day!

    Like

    Reply

  12. A. T2B-DU-nose to wall went like:
    7-50-30s*someone was making me laugh during these t2b
    15-50-30s
    11-39-39s

    I wanted to work mu’s but it was too crowded

    B. EMOM done @ 78# – felt great. Missed first rep but I think I wasn’t really paying attention

    C. 26:43 Okay, this was killer. Mentally wasn’t prepared. In first round did BURPEE box jump overs – don’t know why. That gassed me and put me behind a lot. Alyssa was already crushing me at this point lol. Went unbroken on first round OHS. After that, split up into 10 and 5 and last round can’t remember but broke into 3 sets. Squatting felt fine it’s just wrists were in pain.

    D. Skipped for today. Too late and too beat

    Like

    Reply

  13. A. Worked on L-sits, T2B, and nose to wall
    B. 155 across. No misses
    C. 9:53 RX. OHS unbroken, burpees sucked and just tried to not stop but definitely the slowest movement for me. C2B went 10/5, 5/5/5, 15 UB. Just grind through the box jump over.
    D. Had to coach the oly class

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

