January 20th, 2016

A. Three sets, not for time of:
2-3 Rope Climbs (legless or traditional, whichever needs the work)
45-60 Second Nose-to-Wall Handstand Hold
30-40 Second L-Sit (accumulated)

B. Split Jerk – 1 rep every 30 seconds for 8 minutes @ 65-70% of 1-RM;

+

6 sets @85-90%:
8-12 Unbroken Chest-to-Bar Pull-ups
15 Box Jumps (games standard; full stand on top of box)
20/15 Calorie Assault Bike
Rest walk 2 minutes b/t sets

—–
Notes:
-Feel free to substitute gymnastic movements that you struggle with on Part A (muscle-ups, toes to bar, etc.)
-Warm up the split jerk well; 65% should feel great
-Same pace for all sets on the conditioning, don’t blow it out
-Train today with the goal of feeling good on Friday

15 Comments

  1. B) 185
    Conditioning : 2:06-2:17-2:30-2:40-3:10-:3:09
    12 pull ups each round
    Box jumps all rebound
    AD 25 cal

    Kinda fell off at the end. Legs were smoked.

    Like

    Reply

  2. A. I did 3 muscle ups! I definitely felt like something clicked today, at least with the first of the 3.
    B. Done at 113#
    C. 2:11,2:24,2:26,2:35,2:45,2:40
    I did 8 UB C2B the whole time. I stuck on the lower end with these, because I honestly didn’t know how many UB I was capable of going into this. 8 felt really good though. Obviously I wasn’t able to keep the same throughout the sets, but I think I was pretty consistent with the pull-ups and box jumps, just mainly lost time in the assault bike.

    I came in today feeling really beat up and tired, but I was pleasantly surprised with how I felt during the workouts. Very excited about the MU finally coming along!

    Like

    Reply

  3. A. Did all jerks at 65% aka 165. They felt okay eventually, my shoulders are just worked. Really happy to do some technique work though.

    B. Did all 6 sets, some probably closer to 2 minutes, some closer to 2:30. It was hard. Did 10 UB chest to bars each time though as to not fire up my shoulders too much. All rebounding box jumps, and rode the bike at a setting way too high for me, haha.

    Won’t be in Friday or Saturday due to ECC, so I will try to move when I can!

    Like

    Reply

  4. After yesterdays let down, today was definitely a win.

    A. I just did one push press at 55# here every 30 seconds, which quickly turned into an AMRAP for 8 minutes because the rest wasn’t short enough for me.

    B. Did all 6 sets on the gyms airdyne, I don’t know what an assault bike is but it sounds too aggressive for me. I did the first 3 rounds with 8 pull ups (managed to touch my chest to the bar a few times!), and then the last 3 with 12 ring rows. I biked 20 calories every time, and used a 20″ box.

    2:09, 2:14, 2:22, 2:46, 2:42, 3:00

    The last few sets were really tough, but overall feeling pretty happy about today. Because I have no one to compete with down here, I follow some of your numbers more closely, such as Emma’s because even though she uses women’s weights, I feel like I will be able to keep up with her sometime soon. So today I was pushing extra hard to try and make sure I kept up or beat her a few times tonight on the 6 sets. It was tough, the girl can move! Looking forward to whatever Friday brings. Just hope I can do the movements.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Worked on hand stands and muscle-ups.
    A. Did jerks at 145 (67%). They were okay, could have been faster.
    B. Tried to stick to 12 pull-ups, but only got 10 on two rounds. Rebounding box jumps except those same two rounds when I was feeling kinda beat.
    2:45 (12 Chest to bar)
    2:23 (12)
    2:38 (12)
    2:43 (10)
    2:43 (10)
    2:22 (12)

    Like

    Reply

  6. Miami was incredible but is always good to come back and train with the crew! Took it pretty easy today. Took my time on the gymnastics piece and kept the jerk about 15lbs lighter than 65%. On the conditioning piece I probably went 75-80% effort. My biggest focus was on moving well.

    A. 3 sets of:
    2 rope climbs
    10 t2b
    30 sec L-sit (accumulate the 30sec)

    B. Jerk- 165

    C. 2:28/2:25/2:20/2:22/2:25/2:26
    *stood tall on the box and stepped down. Legs are still recovering from Wodapalooza.

    Like

    Reply

  7. A. 2 regular rope climbs(x3), wanted to work on getting my feet set faster. Held l-sit for 30 sec each set. Did 1 hold facing the wall then worked on free standing and got my balance every few attempts to hold for maybe 5+ seconds.
    B. #103, power cleaned (racks were crowded) and held a front rack between reps did 2 within 20 sec and rested for the rest of the minute.
    C. 2:49/2:38/2:45/2:46/2:50/2:41
    Got 8 UB c2b which was a surprise, I tend to struggle with these but I got a good rhythm tonight.
    Felt a little beat up tonight upper body is pretty smoked along with the quads. Great training week so far nonetheless.

    Like

    Reply

  8. A: did 3 attempts at legless rope climbs – the gym was kind of crowded so I didn’t really get to do more. then held 2 15 second L sits on the rings x3 and did 30 second nose to wall handstand hold.
    B: 113# approx every 30 seconds. Emma, Susan and I all shared a rack so we did the best we could to stay on time.
    C: 2:53, 2:40, 2:34, 2:42, 2:31 – I was pretty pumped because I was getting at least 5 C2B unbroken each time, which has definitely never happened in a workout before. They felt really good. Did a total of 8 each round though.

    Like

    Reply

  9. A. Did muscle up progression work, 3 regular rope climbs for practice, practice handstand walking and accumulated 30 seconds of L sit.
    B. 123#, only wobbled on one. Felt good.
    C. 2:41, 2:56, 3:06, 3:15, 3:25, 3:15. Did 8 CTB, only broke on last 2 sets. They actually felt better than normal. I swear the bike started going to negative calories, it was exhausting.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. A) timing was an issue yesterday morning so, had to skip
    B) 215# (foot work got a little lazy a little over half way thru, otherwise good)
    C) 8 UB CTB, 15BJ, 25cal AD
    2:11, 2:16, 2:29, 2:42, 3:02, 3:12
    As you can see…. DIED on the AD. CTB and box jumps were consistent but, that damn devil bike drop kicked me.

    Welcome back Jake, and congrats on the solid showing down in Miami!

    Congrats Emma on the MUs!

    Like

    Reply

  11. A. 2 RC w/ legs (worked on some technique), knee tucks on parallettes (would have been here all night if I did L sits), freestanding handstand hold practice (got a few decent holds)

    B. 145
    Worked under 65% here. Needed some practice moving. Didn’t go very well.

    C. ?:??, 3:38, 2:49, DNF
    Did 8 C2B and 15 cals. Pullups have never felt worse for me. Watch stopped during the first round. Second round I couldn’t hang onto the pullup bar so I just sat down for a minute. Did a sloppy third round. Fourth round I couldn’t get more than 4 pullups without hopping off so I just left. I was very frustrated.

    Like

    Reply

  12. A. 2 rope climbs, mu progression
    B. Done @ 103#
    C. 8 C2B/round, 15 BJ, 15 cals
    3:23, 3:15, 3:11, 3:52, 4:33, 3:42
    * first round I forgot to get a box so I had to go get that during
    **should have scaled the bike

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

