January 18th, 2016

Optional AM Session:
Three sets of:
2000 Meter Row @80%
Rest 2 minutes
1000 Meter Row @90%
Rest 2 minutes
300 Meter Row @100%
Rest 2 minutes

Main Session:
Warmup of choice, then…

A. Take 15 minutes to build to today’s heavy single Front Squat

B. Open Workout 14.4
Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 14 minutes of:
60 Calorie Row
50 Toes to Bar
40 Wall Balls (20 lb to 10ft/14 lb to 9ft)
30 Power Cleans (135/95#)
20 Muscle-Ups

C. 10-20 Minutes Z1 of choice (row, bike, or ski)
——
Notes:
-Front Squat; if the PR is there, take it, otherwise just build to something “heavy”
-14.4: note the time when you complete each section (just as you would for the tie-breaker in the Open). If you’ve completed this workout before, please include your score from that time as well.

24 Comments

  1. A. 285
    B. 3 mu’s. 1 more from the last time. Surprisingly the wall balls and cleans felt good. But lost my t2b from last time. Died after the 30

    Like

    Reply

  2. A) 135, 185, 205, 235, 255, 275, 285…all felt heavy. 290 was 1 RM from when we first tested.

    B) 10 MU, one rep more than last time. 2:37 left once I finished the cleans. First MU was at 2:00. Did 3 UB, 2 then 5 singles.

    Row: off at 3:10
    T2B- 5s thru 35, 4+1 to get to 40 then survival for last 10.
    WB- 21, 10, 9
    Cleans- all singles.

    Like

    Reply

  3. A. 213#
    5 lb PR. This felt super good, but attempted 218 and it might as well have been 400 lbs.

    14.4
    3:35 for the row. T2B took a long time, more than 5 minutes I think Quick through the wall balls. Most cleans in 3s.
    Finished the cleans with about 15 seconds on the clock. Didn’t have time for any MU attempts.

    Don’t know my exact score for 2014 but I think I did about 20 wall balls. I barely had any time left (maybe 30 seconds) because the T2B took me so long. Have come a long way, but these are still a weakness.

    Like

    Reply

  4. A. Up to 290 (15# PR) – these felt really good today. Kept my elbows up and felt strong getting out of the hole.

    B. 1 MU. I think I had 3:00+ minutes after the cleans, but just could not get more than 1 muscle up. I had a lot of failed attempts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Lol. Accidentally liked my own post.
      Breakdown of the workout:
      Off the rower at about 3:00
      T2b: 10,10,10,10,5,5.
      Wall balls 4×10 – probably could have done 2×20, but knew the cleans would take me a while so didn’t want to be too tired going into them.
      Opened cleans with a set of 5, but quickly switched to singles.

      Like

      Reply

  5. A. 335. Failed 355 – would have been 5# PR
    B. 19 MU. Previous best was 7. Obviously happy with this progress, but felt like if I had planned better I could’ve squeezed in some cals. The row felt good. 2 sets of 10 on T2B and then sets of 5 to finish. WB done as 25/15. Cleans rotated back and forth between tng 5s and singles. Needed to be more consistent here. This is probably where I lost the most time resting. MU opened with 6 and then went sets of 3-4. Rested a little too much here too I think. I am ok with resting during the MU so as to not fail a rep, which I didn’t, but I think I should have pushed harder through the cleans. Sorry for all the reflection, but thought it was good to throw it out there. Alanna put it best ” you wanna be a surgeon right? Well next time cut the bitch out of your heart.” #Ruthless #Toughlove

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. A) 330 (10# PR) 315 went up quick so decided to throw on another 15 and it felt good.

    B) 14.4 – 184 reps (PR) – 11:56 tie break. (4 MUs)
    Row was smooth, TTB were very methodically planned out and rested, 18-12-10 on the wall balls. Fairly quick singles on the cleans. Didn’t push the MUs with my shoulder. Stuck to singles with :15-:20 rest in between. Definitely happy with this.
    I remember hating this workout with a passion. Previously hit 180 reps and tie break was 12:34 (if I remember correctly). I recall being absolutely junk for a full minute before having a go at a MU which I failed. Glad that was not the case today.
    Glad to have both John and Marc to push against today.

    Like

    Reply

  7. A. 275. My knee was bothering my so I decided this was good enough
    B. 19 muscle ups. Previous best was 7. I got off the row at 3:13. T2B around 5:55-6:00. Wall balls finished at 8:05 I did 15/10/10/5. Finished cleans at 11:10(I stopped moving way too much). Then for muscle ups I did 4/4/4/3/2/1/1. I’m happy but mad at same time. To come that close to getting back on tower and not making it tough

    Like

    Reply

  8. Jake looking good bro. Great job this weekend.

    A. 275
    B. 8 MU

    Did this workout after a day trip to Wachusett with Leamy the Legend. Shredded gnar all day. I was so tired coming in. Squats were brutal but I was happy to hit 275. Made a feeble attempt at 285 and called it.

    Part B felt pretty decent. Off the rower in a little under 3 minutes. TTB’s completed in sets of 3 or 4. The 20lb med ball felt like a feather compared to the 30lb. Cleans were all singles. I want to say I had around 2 minutes to get after the MU’s. These felt great. I wished I had pushed a little harder to free up some more time here, definitely felt like I had some more in the tank.

    Like

    Reply

  9. A. 193 matched PR I want over #200 so bad
    B. Got to 2MU (182 reps)
    this was my goal so I’m pumped! Never did 14.4 before so I was unsure how this was going to go. So glad we’ve been using the #20 wb, those felt great. Broke the t2b up in 5s, wb 20/20, and cleans were messy, did full cleans for 9 reps (stupid mistake) and just should have picked it up faster. Happy with 2 mu but not satisfied I feel like I could have gotten a few more if I gave myself more time by pushing harder on the cleans.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Went into this not knowing what 14.4 was…and still do not know, as I cannot do toes to bar yet, so instead I just rowed the 60 cals and then did 50 leg raises, 14# wall balls, and 85# cleans. I got 12 cleans in before I was time capped. Definitely frustrated as I know I have more in the tank. Nice job at the competition Jake, wish I had the chance to meet you! Didn’t realize the Jake Marconi on the blog was the one on the leader board until too late.

    Like

    Reply

  11. A. Worked up to 275, went beltless and felt strong in the core, but got a little forward and the weight felt heavy. This is 15# below my PR of 290#. Congrats to everyone who got PR’s today!!! Awesome to see.

    B. I have a past with this workout, I did it twice in 2014, first time getting 13 cleans, second time getting to the rings and just barely missing a muscle up. Then I re-did it last year, and got 1 Muscle up and missed the second.
    Tonight I got 10 Muscle Ups, which was nice, but I failed one too. I think I could have gotten a few more, but would need to push a little harder on the rower I think, and hop on the rings a little faster each time. Mentally I want to get back to the rower, I do not know if I am physically ready though.

    Like

    Reply

  12. A. Matched PR at 195. 200 felt like 9 million.
    B. Finished 25 cleans. When I did it in ’14 I only did 3 cleans. So some progress. Toes to bar is still the weakness for me here. Finished row at 4:03, T2B at 8:57 and wall balls at 11:40.

    Like

    Reply

  13. A) 275…should of had 280
    B) 3 MUs. Never done before. I liked this workout. T2B were a grind. Got to the muscle ups at minute 10. Really need to work on my grip for MUs. Was happy to get a few here.
    C)Done

    Like

    Reply

  14. Had to make it up today
    A. 185. Tried to match previous PR @ 195 and failed.
    B. i got through 21 cleans which was a 10 rep PR from previous year’s 11. I could have pushed this more I felt I could have gotten through the cleans. T2B fell apart at around 30. Lost my kip and had to do sets of 2s and 3s and eventually strict singles. I too am thankful that we’ve been using the 20# wall ball. Those went well. Finished the row at 4:10 and I failed to remember the rest. I just remember the first time I did this being broken after the row. I don’t know why but I felt completely normal after and not dying for air. So overall, I feel much better and wouldn’t mind seeing this in this year’s open.
    C. Done- ass. bike

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

