January 11th, 2016

*Happy (1-day-belated) birthday to Marc Pitts.  Lookin’ good brah!

Optional AM Session:
Row 5 minutes @easy effort
+
Row 200 meters @80%
Row 300 meters @90% (think best 2k pace here)
Row 100 meters @ very easy effort
x4
+
10 minutes @constant pace:
2 Heavy TGU Left Arm
2 Heavy TGU Right Arm
100ft Dual KB Front Rack Carry
+
Row 200 meters @80%
Row 300 meters @90% (think best 2k pace here)
Row 100 meters @ very easy effort
x4
+
Row 5 minutes @easy effort

Main Session:
Warmup:
Three sets of:
10-15 Banded Good Mornings
10-15 GHD Situps
10-15 Light Goblet Squats
Then:
Three sets of:
Tall Clean + Front Squat + Clean; 1+1+1 x3 (light to moderate)

A. Clean from Above the Knee + Clean from Below the Knee;
Take 6 or 7 sets to build to a heavy single (do not drop the bar between lifts)

B. Front Squat; build quickly to a single @90+%, then:
5×1 @90-95% (rest as needed)

C. For time:
21 Thrusters (95/65 lbs)
7 Muscle-Ups
18 Thrusters
6 Muscle-Ups
15 Thrusters
5 Muscle-Ups
12 Thrusters
4 Muscle-Ups

Rest 5 minutes, then…

D. 3 Minutes of Max Toes to Bar in unbroken sets of 3 only (just like last time, you must drop off the bar after every set of 3)

——
Notes:
-Some of you may remember Part C from Invictus last year #funAF
-Substitute on the MUs is 2x Chest-to-Bars and Ring Dips (so RD1: 14 CTB + 14 Dips, RD2: 12 CTB + 12 Dips, etc.)
-Be smart about not ripping your hands on TTB (if you are at risk). Hit Part C hard, then breathe and walk around, focus on pulling it together and staying efficient on the TTBs.

19 Comments

  1. A few items that should be of notation:
    1) HAHAHA – I tend to only see the email that tells the workout until I head to the blog to post. Needless to say, not only did Tom come in but his wife asking what happened on the FR page today?
    2) I’ve decided that since I can’t lift as much weight or move as quickly as any of you I decided that my next approach would be to distract you. Whatever it takes.
    3) Two years ago I was at the Training Think Tank with Max El-Hag where they have you do workouts, watch how you move, give feedback, etc. This was my exchange with Max at the time (in front of the entire group)
    Max: “The only feedback I can give is you are polished. How long have you been Crossfitting?”
    Me: 6 years (at the time)
    Max: Ok. And how old are you?
    Me: 33.
    Max: You need to understand, that you are part of the law of diminishing returns now.

    Sooooo, at 35 now – consider the returns even more diminished. I’m a far cry from a thundercat.

    A) 155, 175, 195, 215, 235, 240 (ox – got under 2nd clean, sat in the hole, got organized, started coming up (Tom said I was above parallel at that point)…and then dropped the weight)
    B) Front squats at 265 (90%) – these did not feel good. Elbows dropping, forward inclination coming out of the hole.
    C) 8:34. Thrusters and walls balls….those things just get in my head before I even start the workouts with them in it every time. Only thing UB was the first set of 7 muscle ups. Went into the thrusters saying I needed to pace this workout and turns out it really didn’t need to be to the extent that I did. Thrusters: 15+6; 6+6+6; 8+7; 7+5. MU: 7; 3+2+1; 2+2+1; 2+2. I’m sure there will be some quick times for this piece.
    D) 39. I know I was in the 50s the last time we did this. I realize it was in the testing stage and not post workout. Did my 3, made a tic mark and felt I was right back on the bar. But I must have been killing time somewhere. I wasn’t particularly smoked here but my number reflects some slow moving. 3/4 of an ice cream cake maybe? Or perhaps part 3 of the top of my post….I’m old.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. A. 115-195 that re-grip it’s always been a weakness
    B. Build to 285 missed 295 5×1 at 255
    C. 14:36 glad to had done it Rx. Thrusters didn’t feel as bad as I assumEDD but slowly getting my mu’s back
    D. 45 total (3×15) whoa abs

    Like

    Reply

  3. Felt wiped walking into the gym this AM. I have a feeling my poor attitude rubbed off on the birthday boy… I’m pulling the lack of sleep card (my night with the baby monitor), Marc pulled the ‘old guy’ card apparently…
    A) 265, went for 270 and f below the knee.
    B) Built to 305, then only did 2×1 at 295 to catch up to Marc
    C) 13:21 w/ CTB & RDs. Awful. Chose to save my shoulder and the CTB and RDs just took me forever. Thrusters suck too. Really great workout this am. haha
    D) 54 these are the only thing that went well today. Quick and no fatigue.

    Like

    Reply

  4. A) worked up to 245. Got a some
    Knee pain so shut it down there
    B) worked up to 315 then 315×5 sets
    C) 7:02 RX
    D) 42

    Split all the thrusters in half and kept the muscle ups all UB. Tough workout today but happy with my results

    Like

    Reply

  5. A. 245

    B. 265/245x1x5
    I’m a bit disappointed that I can clean 245 for a double and then struggle so much here.

    C. 13:58 RX

    D. 54

    Like

    Reply

  6. Felt much better coming in this week than last. Energy is good!

    A. 93-143. Made above the knee with 153, missed below the knee.
    B. 3 sets at 195, failed in a miserable fashion on the fourth set and moved on.
    C. 7:56 C2B/RD sub
    Thrusters: 8/7/6,7/6,5,6/5/4,5/4/3
    All C2B and RD UB
    I was happy with how this went. I decided on a rep scheme with the thrusters and stuck with it. I didn’t rest more than 3 breaths in between and didn’t feel sloppy. Wish I could have done this RX, but either way, I’m happy with how my breathing and pacing were in this kind of quick and dirty piece.
    D. 36

    Like

    Reply

  7. A. 95-145 missed second rep @ 153
    B. 5×1 @185
    C. 13:11 rx
    D. 36
    Felt some sickness coming on today but happy how I did. Feeling a bit of a pinch in my back so kept it safe on the front squats going to get that mobilized.

    Like

    Reply

  8. A. Worked up to 225, stoked on this it felt easy.

    B. Worked to 265 but felt too sloppy to keep hitting reps at that weight. So I did my 5 singles at 245.

    C. 9:19 RX, bummed I didn’t go sub 9 (missed my last muscle up at 8:52 to blow it), I never felt that uncomfortable, just for fatigued on the Muscle ups.
    Thrusters: 21/12-6/9-6/7-5
    Muscle ups: 5-2/4-2/3-2/2-1-1 (FML)

    D. 42. Toes to bar from yesterday definitely started to be felt. Oh well, good rig work.

    Like

    Reply

  9. A: 103-143.
    B: 165×1
    C: 17:54 with 2 c2b and 2 ring dips for every muscle up as a sub. I’m actually really happy with this because this is the the first time c2b pull-ups felt fluid in a workout. Was getting sets of 3 rather than singles.
    D: 33. Meh.

    Like

    Reply

  10. A. Worked up to 185. Failed 205 3 times, got above the knee, but failed below the knee.
    B. Up to 265 (96%) 5×1 @ 255.
    C. 17:57 Rx. Going in I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to complete it at Rx because muscle ups are still a struggle, so I’m happy I finished at all. Thanks for the encouragement, everyone. The muscle ups were definitely where I had the most trouble, the thrusters felt fine. I think the way I’m doing my muscle ups are pretty inefficient and I need to focus on smoothing out the movement.
    D. 54

    Like

    Reply

  11. A. Worked up to 133. Failed second rep at 138.
    B. Up to 185 (95%) and stayed there x 5.
    C. 15:35 with 2C2B & 2ring dips subbed for each MU. Arms were tired.
    D. 33

    Like

    Reply

  12. Behind a day this week. I had a game to watch last night

    A. 165/185/205/225/235
    B. Up to 295
    Then 5×1 @275
    C. 6:59 RX. MU felt good, UB except for the round of 5. I had to break up thrusters way too much.
    D. 57 reps. But these were a lot harder than I thought they would be

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

