January 9th, 2016

*The first few Wodapalooza workouts have been released (you can see them here: http://www.thewodapalooza.com/wods).  If any of you didn’t know, Jake will be competing in the 16-18 y/o division, and Alecia and I will be there to coach/bask in his glory.  Be sure to wish Jake luck when you see him. Meanwhile, you all  will have some fun with a couple of the workouts next week.

A. 4 sets:
Against a 90-second running clock, complete:
Assault Bike 20/15 Calories (AirDyne is 30 cals)
AMRAP Toes to Bar in Remainder
Rest 90 seconds b/t sets

Rest 4 minutes, then…

B. 3 sets:
Against a 2-minute running clock, complete:
Row 300/250 Meters
AMRAP Strict Handstand Push-ups in Remainder
Rest 2 minutes b/t sets

Rest 3 minutes, then…

C. 2 sets:
Against a 2.5-minute running clock, complete:
100 Double Unders
AMRAP Pistols in Remainder
Rest 2.5 minutes between sets

Rest 2 minutes, then…

D. For time:
Row 2000 Meters
30 Burpees Over the Erg

E1. Dual KB Overhead Carry; 100ft continous (one length of the gym); Rest 60 seconds x 3
E2. Glute-Ham Raises @30X1; 6-8 reps; Rest 60 seconds x 3
E3. Weighted Plank Hold; 60 seconds; Rest 60 seconds x 3
(Same as last week, look to go a little heavier on each)

19 Comments

  1. A) 11-4-12-6 (swore I kept the same pace on the AD each rd but…. clearly not…)
    B) 7-8-8 (these felt pretty good)
    C) 93DUs on the first set which is crap. Second set I cleared the DUs + 9 pistols
    D) 10:12
    Forgot about E until after the sweat dried and I couldn’t bring myself to stay. Glad to sweat it out to this long ass running clock this AM!

    Like

    Reply

  2. A. 26, 14, 0,0 – I think I went out too fast on the first one and then my legs were smoked and I couldn’t make it through the bike. Is there anything you can do when it feels like your leg muscles are going to explode out of your skin?
    B. 11, 11, 7 – this felt fine. tried to go a little slower on the row and make it up on the HSPU.
    C. 8, 20 – tripped a bunch, but still made it through…
    D. 10:30 (8:29 Row) – broke the burpees up into three sprints of 10. This worked for me, I’m better with sprinting and resting rather than pushing through at a slower pace.
    E1. 16kg, 20, 20
    E2. done
    E3. 10#, 25, 25
    Didn’t do this last week, so didn’t have anything to compare to.

    Like

    Reply

  3. A) on AD- 9 , 10, 10, 8 (had :15-:20 ish for t2b)
    B) 12, 13, 8
    C) 22, 29 (very slow pistols. Du- 2 trips on 1st set, UB on 2nd)
    D) 9:55 (8:16.1 on row…laughable)

    Like

    Reply

  4. A. 20, 18, 15, 11
    I was able to keep the RPMs in the 70’s and low 80’s pretty consistently. The midline was the first thing to go.

    B. 3, 6, 4 (kipping)
    I knew that I was only going to be able to hit 3-6 in the remaining time. Kept an easy pace on the row. There was a decent amount of time standing around between HSPU.

    C. 25, 30
    Opened up both sets with 60 DU. Calves were cramping hard again. Worked through it.

    D. 10:30 (8:15 row)
    Felt pretty good. Wished I went a tad harder with the burpees here.

    E1. 16kg, 12kg, 12kg
    E2. Scaled to hip extensions.
    E3. All with 25lbs

    Went down in weight for E1 to focus on those “soft elbows”. Had a FIERCE calf cramp during the glue-ham raises so I dropped down to hip extensions. Good sesh today.

    Like

    Reply

  5. A. 14/14/14/4
    *the last round fell apart on the bike and I need to work on my toe to bars
    B. 11/13/11
    *these felt pretty good
    C. 21/51
    *ankles loosened up on second set
    D. 9:47
    *this wasn’t nearly as bad as I anticipated.

    Like

    Reply

  6. A. 13, 24, 15, 11 first two rounds were great…then the ass bike destroyed my quads
    B. 12, 10, 10 felt okay, slowly getting that shoulder strength back
    C. 22, 30
    D. 11:20 row was 9:16 wasn’t as bad as I thought. Should had pushed the row a bit more.
    E. Done ✔️

    Like

    Reply

  7. A) 5-10-7-8
    Air dyne was tough. Didn’t have much time
    B 9-8-7
    Strict hspu are a work in progress for me
    C) 54-44 air squats sub
    I don’t have pistols yet
    D 10:04

    Like

    Reply

  8. A. 5/5/3/3 it was so hard to get through the bike and by the time I got to the bar I was smoked
    B. 5/5/5 probably could have squeezed a few more in, this felt much better than part A
    C. 18/22, these felt good kept tripping up on the dubs then my shoe came untied in second set (darn mettys).
    D. 11:16

    Like

    Reply

  9. A. 8,8,?,0
    Lost track of time on the third set and did 8 T2B but not all of them were within the 90 seconds, hence the ?
    B. 6,6,6 (marked by the devil)
    C. -11, 11 obviously DU went better the second round. Pistols were super slow.
    D. 11:35. This felt so much better than I expected it to feel. Row was about 9:00. Should have pushed a little harder going into the Burpees, I was definitely holding back a little out of fear.
    E. Done. Same weights as the big boys. We out here.

    Altogether I felt like absolute garbage during A,B, and C. One of those days I was feeling embarrassed about my performance. Part D was okay, though!

    Like

    Reply

  10. A. 12/10/12×2- tried to just stay consistent here. Tried to keep Watts above 450 and the go UB on T2B
    B. 8/11/8 – good day here. Hit sets of 10 and 8 UB reps in the final two rounds.
    C. 13/19– hit the rings on the first set which threw me off. Second set of DU UB. Pistols are slow for me, but I’ve made a ton of progress from where I was last year.
    D. 7:19 row/8:59 total– this stunk. Hung tough for as long as I could.
    E. Done — 20kg on carries/35# on plank.

    Glad to get this in today. I felt decent today for the first time in about a week. Going to try and ride that momentum into tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Did the Wednesday Interval work as a warm up, which proved to be my demise here (tried doubling up as it’s been about 4 days since I workedout due to being sick)

    A. 11-14-11-8 T2B
    B. 5-5-5
    C. 8 pistols-(then I cramped so hard in my lower abdominal I couldn’t finish my second sets of DU, stopped at 75 DU.
    D. Did not do.

    E. done at 20KG KB’s and 35 # planks

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  12. A. 17/13/11/11. Just went as hard as I could. Went UB on T2B
    B. 13/11/12. Rows actually felt good.
    C. 24/33. I try to move at a consistent pace on the pistols. Tripped up more than usual on the first set of dubs
    D. 9:57. Rowing felt ok and tried to just keep moving and not rest on the ground on the Burpees.
    E. Done. 20kg and 25# planks

    Like

    Reply

  13. Worked out in Npt.

    A. 12/7/4/2 on the airdyne. This felt ridiculously hard on my legs
    B. 8/8/7
    C. 12/13
    D. 12:26, it was a struggle, arms just done by the time for the burpees
    E. Did glute-ham raises and then ran out of time.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

