December 16th, 2015

*Reminder: OPEX Winter Classic workout announcements and discussion webinar is today at 4pm.  If you can be by a computer, you can register to watch it here.

Warmup:
Row 300 Meters, then..
3 rounds of:
2-3 Turkish Get Ups each arm
10 GHD Back Extensions
10 Thrusters w/2 second pause at top (empty bar to light load)

3 sets @ 80% —> 90% —>  100% effort:
Row 500m
15 Burpees
15 Toes to Bar
15 Thrusters 115/75#
75 Double Unders

Rest 4 min between sets

——
Notes:
-The purpose of these sets are to show incremental effort. This means that set 2 MUST be faster than set 1, and set 3 MUST be faster than sets 1 & 2.

19 Comments

  1. 6:27/5:47/5:45

    Row: 155/150/145
    T2B: 5×3/8+7/8+7- would have liked to hang on unbroken for the last set but got a little congested with class and had to drop and bump over.
    Thrusters: 5×3/10+5/UB
    DU: all over the place here. Usually a solid piece for me. Very erratic with my sets.

    Felt really crappy today. Pretty sore and feeling slow. Not happy with how this went/felt. Leaving today in the past. Looking forward to a rest day tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply

  2. 7:30,7:30,7:10
    – Paced well, had to add wieght to my bar during workout (shared with Susan) prob took 30 secs. I live and die by the DUs look plus 2 mins to complete them. Probably my biggest weakness.

    Like

    Reply

  3. A. 7:38, 7:22, 7:13
    I felt like I had pretty good control over my pacing throughout the row, Burpees, and thrusters. T2B were more hit or miss and DUs were TERRIBLE today. Luckily they went pretty well the last round, so I was able to keep on goal with descending times, but still pretty slow throughout. Wiped out going into the day. Felt awful altogether.

    Like

    Reply

  4. 6:29-6:15-5:50
    500s all around 1:45-1:50
    T2B 10+5-10+5- UB
    thrusters 5+5+5- 8+7- 10+5
    Du 4 trip ups though the wod

    feeling tired today but pushed hard. Paced well. 100% hurts

    Like

    Reply

  5. 5:35-5:03-4:33

    Row-1:50/1:45/1:40
    Burpees- slow, quick, fast
    T2B- UB/13-2/UB
    Thruster- 3×5/ 7-8/ 8-7

    Tried to move through the transitions faster each round.

    Like

    Reply

  6. 7:35, 7:23, 8:02

    My body felt fine going into the workout but I felt mentally drained. I started at what I thought would be an easy pace to build off of. Crashed and burned during the last set. Those thrusters slayed me… Felt absolutely destroyed going into the double unders. Should have slowed it down a bit in retrospect.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Fun day today. Coffee naps are the shit.
    5:57 (tripped twice on dubs) 8-4-3 on t2b 5×3 on thrusters
    5:44 (spent 15 seconds trying to find a place to do DU) 9-6 on t2b and thrusters
    4:59 tripped on DU once or twice
    UB on t2b and thrusters

    Like

    Reply

  8. 5:27, 5:42, 7:30

    Row: 1:56, 1:50, 1:54
    Burpees: don’t really know how to quantify this
    T2b: ub, ub, 7-4-4
    Thrusters: 5-5-5, 5-4-3-3, 3-3-3-2-2-2
    DU: 3×25, tripped a bunch, tripped even more.

    I thought I was doing a good job of holding back in the first set, but clearly I should have taken more time. I got through the row, burpees, and t2b within 3 minutes each time, but the thrusters and double unders killed me. The first set of thrusters and DUs were pretty smooth and I didn’t feel like I was rushing, but the 2nd and 3rd round was a real struggle. The DU struggle is real.

    Like

    Reply

  9. 7:00/6:50/7:19

    I’m not too sure what happened on the last one – I really thought I was going faster than the other two, but I couldn’t see the clock to pace myself. oops.

    Really need to work on maintaining my rhythm with t2b – but the other pieces felt pretty good.

    Like

    Reply

  10. 7:05/ 6:45/ 6:57
    Definitely went 80-100-90, should have trusted my pacing plan but got a bit too excited on the second round. All in all good day, didn’t feel great going in but happy with the outcome.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Not a good feeling day today. Taught the early morning classes. Started this wod at 7 (usual schedule). Got through the warmup not feeling warmed. Started the wod- 5:22 first round, stopped 9 thrusters through the 2nd round as my head was pounding, felt shaky. Taught 2 more classes and thought I’d give it another go: 6:01, 5:41, 6:37. Ended up hugging a toilet afterwards- as you can see by my time it wasn’t because I was pushing at 100%. Honestly, not sure what was going on (ate like usual today, slept the usual). This was certainly a good set up for a wod and could see it being very beneficial.

    Like

    Reply

      1. I’ll chalk it up to 1 of 3 things:
        1) I had strep throat earlier this week
        2) I’ve had a child home sick for 3 of the last 5 school days
        3) I have no idea how to do workouts like this and got blindsided and then b*slapped in the process.

        Good chance of the latter

        Like

Leave a Reply

