November 28th, 2015

A. Individual Skill Work:

EMOM x 16 minutes:
Odd Minutes – 20-30 seconds of work on something you are weak at
Even minutes – 20-30 seconds of work on something else you are weak at

*Every Saturday, we will start with these EMOM pieces centered on things that YOU need to work on, specifically in the gymnastics realm.  This can include, but is not limited to: Butterfly pull-ups, Toes-to-Bar, Muscle-ups, Pistols or Rolling Pistols, Double Unders, Rope Climbs, Handstand Walks, Planches, etc. Choose two (factoring in what you have to do in Part B), then choose a rep range that allows for solid practice, without excessive fatigue or muscle failure.  If you need help with what to do, we can provide some suggestions for you.

B.
Row 1k @80-90% effort

Rest 2 minutes

For time:
10 Turkish Get Ups (24/16 kg) *alternate arms
10 Dumbbell Man Makers (50/35#)
100 Double Unders
10 Rope Climbs

Rest 2 minutes

Row 1k @ same pace as above

Notes:
-“Grinder” effort throughout; steady and keep going
-Man-maker= *Push-up, row left, row right, power clean, push press
-Same pace on both the first and second 1000 meter rows

12 Comments

  1. A. Did jumping MU and practiced HS walk
    B. Total time = 26:39
    1k row = 4:13.7
    Tens of terror = 18:11
    1k row = 4:25.6

    Workout and I felt very slow.

    Like

    Reply

  2. A.EMOM 16
    Odd: 4 alternating weighted pistols. Tried to focus on perfect form here. Worked up to 35lb.
    Even: Handstand holds. Started at the wall and eventually transitioned to freestanding attempts.

    B.
    1k row: 3:36.9
    19:13
    1k row: 3:45.9

    Was struggling HARD with the manmakers. I feel very sore.

    Like

    Reply

  3. A. Worked on B-fly pull ups and pistols. I’ve taken a step back from where I was with pull ups a month or so ago, so it’s time to get back on track. Tried to get sets of 3+ here. Pistols felt decent today. Did the first set with the green band scale, and then went unassisted for 3/leg/min.

    B.

    Row: 3:37.6

    10’s: 12:30

    Row: 3:41.2

    – both rows felt pretty crappy today. The 10’s were a grind, as advertised. I’ve been off with my ROMWOD since Thursday, so I’m feeling a little stiff. Will re-start tomorrow with the extended Warrior Series from Thursday. Glad to have just gotten through this.

    Like

    Reply

  4. A. odd: 3 muscle ups (focusing on kipping dip)
    even: 10m handstand walk (focused on position and not letting myself look like a scorpion)

    B.

    Row: 3:44

    10’s: 10:59
    *ropes are down at LW so I subbed rope climbs with 20 burpee +strict chest to bar.

    Row: 3:39

    Like

    Reply

  5. A. Worked on shoulder taps and my kip to use my hips
    B.
    1krow= 4:09.9
    Tens= 19:41
    (I took really long on the Turkish get ups trying to get good form and then the man makers weight just really got to me and made those pesky DUs hard as heck)
    1k= 4:17

    This one was hard but fun!

    Like

    Reply

  6. A) not enough time this morning to get this in. I’ll have to make it up this week.
    B) 1k – 3:48
    10s – 10:28 24kg/50# (time excludes rest)
    1k – 3:50
    Moved steady thru the TGUs and man makers, tripped at least 8 times on the DUs, and the rope climbs were slow getting thru.

    Like

    Reply

  7. A. -4 alternating pistols at 26#
    I hate that I can do these better than without weight because I have something forcing me into the hole and on my heel.
    -6 toes to bar. Used to hate these, now I love them, but I want them to be a strength not a moderately good movement.

    B.
    Row: 3:40.1
    10’s: 11:00 RX
    Row: 3:41.8

    Rows felt kind of bad, second one definitely bad. 10’s were a grind but not too bad. The Turkish get ups on my left arm sucked. Need to strengthen my weak side. Rope climbs were pretty consistent. They took about 3 minutes.

    Overall, not a bad session for rolling solo dolo

    Like

    Reply

  8. A.EMOM 16
    Odd: muscle up progressions.
    Even: hand stand walks

    B.
    1k row: 4:24
    22:24
    1k row: 4:50

    My arms already felt shot before starting the rope climbs, which were extremely challenging. I still struggle to use my legs enough on them.

    Like

    Reply

  9. A. EMOM 16
    Odd: ring dips
    Even: C2B pullups

    B.
    1k row completed
    22:42
    1k row completed

    *both row were approx 4 minutes each, forgot to note the time sorry
    *manmakers w/ 30# dumbell
    *this was a compilation of things I am not good at lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

