November 16th, 2015

Great job to everyone so far!  It’s been awesome seeing folks hit new PRs, make new friends/training partners, and push themselves through some tough testers.  Hopefully you have all begun to recognize what areas you are stronger and weaker in, both compared to the rest of the group and to the “standards” of where you need to be to excel in the Open.  I’ll go further into the latter once we finish up with the testing period, but keep pushing each other giving it your best efforts!  Thank you for posting your honest feedback!

*Testing Period* – Be sure to post your results (and feels) to the comments!

A. Close Grip Bench Press – Build to a 1-RM

Rest 5 minutes, then…

B. CGBP – One set for Max Reps @ 85% of A

C. Power Clean – Build to a 1-RM in 8 minutes (after warmup)

Rest 2 minutes, then…

D. 8 Minute AMRAP of Power Cleans @ 90% of Part C

E. 20 Minute Bike @ Z1

———
Notes:

  • Hands should be about 14# apart for CGBP; As many sets as needed for a true max
  • USE A SPOTTER ON THE BENCH PRESS
  • Start clock on the 1-RM Power Clean when you get to 50-60%
  • Note reps for 8 minute AMRAP
  • Z1 is cooldown, conversational pace; can be done on rower (but bike is preferred)
16 Comments

  1. A) 225 (missed 230)-not a great movement for me physically. Tends to bother my wrist and left shoulder)
    B) 5 reps at 192 – failed the 6th, not close
    C) 235 (missed 240, didn’t even try to get under it). Felt OK. Really try on heavy power cleans not to starfish. That part felt better than usual.
    D) 26 reps at 212. Elbows were getting real slow in getting through. A heavy grind.
    E) only time for 10 min on AD (we only have one air dyne and no assault bike). Was at 62-65 RPM for whole time.

    Like

    Reply

  2. A) 275 (failed 285)
    B) 8 reps at 243

    Squeezed in the jerk from Saturday- 305 split jerk (5# PR). Was moving slow on these so, really happy with the PR.

    C) 270 (96%) – slow elbows and shrug wasn’t there this AM.
    D) 20 reps at 243. These got ugly. Jacked my wrist a little during the 1RM and my sluggish movement jut punctuated the strain. Tough 8 mins today
    E) 20 mins at 60-66RPM (roughly 6.3 miles) on the Airdyne.

    Like

    Reply

  3. A. 240
    B. 205×7
    C. 275 – failed 290 which would have been 5# PR
    D. 19 reps at 250– first time moving anything close to this load for multiple reps. This was a good learning experience for me. Definitely think I can improve next time around with a more confident mindset and methodical approach.
    E. Done (as I type)

    Like

    Reply

  4. A. 205# (5# PR) never benched more than 200# with or without close grip. Felt like I could do more but missed 225 and 210.

    B. 6 at 175, this was rough!

    C. Hit 235 on the power clean. That’s my previous PR for this. Need to turn my elbows over more rapidly.

    D. 26 at 210. Felt good but def got close to going below parallel a few times. Think I can do more but for the first crack at this it felt alright. Tried staying consistent on the bar.

    E. Done.

    Like

    Reply

  5. A. 133 (10# PR)
    B. 4 at 115
    C. 153. Matched a PR from a few months ago. 158 felt close, but I ran out of time.
    D. 27 reps at 138. I miss. I was shooting for a rep every 15 seconds. Felt pretty good, probably should have pushed the pace a little.
    E. Complete.

    Like

    Reply

  6. A) 255
    B) 225 for 10. (Felt good)
    C) 240 matched PR (Need to work on pulling the bar to my hip. I am pulling up to early…Thanks for the advice coop!)
    D) 29 (Went out a little to fast but fell into a good pace)

    Like

    Reply

  7. A. 205 (95%) Failed at 215
    B. 4 at 175
    C. 215 (5# pr)
    D. 29 at 190 – this didn’t feel terrible until the last couple.
    E. Complete

    Like

    Reply

  8. A. 205
    B. 175 x 6
    C. 245
    D. 220 x 16
    E. Complete

    I have been struggling to find a healthy mental space lately during my training sessions. Part D was tough for me, I missed way too many reps and got upset with myself pretty early on.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. A. got as high as 118 – first time w/CG
    B. Did not do
    C. 145 (5# below previous PR)
    D. 9 sadly at 135 (might have done better if i had used the 35# bar instead, for some reason i do better)
    E. did not have time to complete

    *I did part A last for the sake of time, if that needs to be noted

    Like

    Reply

  10. A) 118 (5# PR)
    B) 7 @ 98
    C) 158# and failed 163 twice. I’m pulling high enough just need to be speedier with those elbows. I think my previous PR with this is 163 – but I’m not totally sure.
    D) 34 Reps @ 143#
    E) complete

    Like

    Reply

  11. A) 145 (94% of regular grip PR)
    B) 6 @ 125
    C) 143 (93% of power clean PR)
    D) 21 @131 – this felt AWFUL
    E) Did not have time to complete

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

